Skip to content
Monmouthshire Counts — Monmouthshire, in numbers.Local help →

Monmouthshire, in numbers

People and living standards

Monmouthshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Monmouthshire council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 80,209 in 1991 to 95,329 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Monmouthshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 85,209 people in 1996; 95,329 people in 2025. 11.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Monmouthshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199180,209
199280,207
199381,637
199483,200
199584,315
199685,209
199785,209
199883,921
199983,980
200084,458
200184,984
200285,417
200386,605
200487,829
200588,611
200689,090
200789,592
200890,109
200990,557
201091,016
201191,508
201291,623
201391,822
201491,864
201591,867
201692,024
201791,791
201891,834
201991,730
202092,456
202193,163
202294,038
202394,932
202495,098
202595,329
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Monmouthshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,989 people in 1996; 14,677 people in 2025. 13.6% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Monmouthshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199115,939
199216,074
199316,381
199416,684
199516,927
199616,989
199716,982
199816,741
199916,878
200016,933
200116,954
200217,072
200317,145
200417,251
200517,191
200617,029
200716,855
200816,689
200916,555
201016,354
201116,213
201216,022
201315,739
201415,488
201515,346
201615,239
201715,080
201815,038
201914,854
202014,835
202114,681
202214,938
202314,932
202414,820
202514,677
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Monmouthshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 53,368 people in 1996; 54,958 people in 2025. 3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Monmouthshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199150,685
199250,375
199351,220
199452,172
199552,745
199653,368
199753,297
199852,195
199952,201
200052,438
200152,728
200252,800
200353,592
200454,367
200554,906
200655,235
200755,571
200855,736
200955,822
201055,980
201156,067
201255,589
201355,505
201455,279
201554,893
201654,630
201754,167
201853,921
201953,684
202053,859
202154,342
202254,517
202355,044
202454,966
202554,958
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Monmouthshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 14,852 people in 1996; 25,694 people in 2025. 73% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Monmouthshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,585
199213,758
199314,036
199414,344
199514,643
199614,852
199714,930
199814,985
199914,901
200015,087
200115,302
200215,545
200315,868
200416,211
200516,514
200616,826
200717,166
200817,684
200918,180
201018,682
201119,228
201220,012
201320,578
201421,097
201521,628
201622,155
201722,544
201822,875
201923,192
202023,762
202124,140
202224,583
202324,956
202425,312
202525,694
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 92,960 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Monmouthshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,1851.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2300.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,1151.2%
White90,10696.9%
Other ethnic group3240.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 91,323 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Monmouthshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White89,52698%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups6240.7%
Asian/Asian British9001%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1440.2%
Other ethnic group1290.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 84,885 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Monmouthshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White83,92198.9%
Mixed3560.4%
Asian/Asian British3050.4%
Black/Black British770.1%
Chinese/Other2260.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 7.9% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Monmouthshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,241 per person in 1997; £28,010 per person in 2024. 149.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Monmouthshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,241
199811,376
199912,170
200013,351
200113,767
200214,370
200314,455
200414,502
200514,945
200615,470
200716,649
200817,259
200916,299
201016,811
201117,051
201217,578
201317,713
201418,691
201519,442
201619,768
201720,550
201821,067
201922,391
202022,097
202123,116
202224,180
202326,078
202428,010
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Monmouthshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 5.9% in 1997; 7.9% in 2024. 2 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Monmouthshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19975.9
19985.1
19997.6
200012.2
200111.3
200213.6
200310.9
20046.9
20056.3
20065.6
20078.5
20089.6
20091.8
20104.1
20114.6
20124.1
20131.1
20143.4
20152.2
20162.7
20174.3
20183.2
20196.3
20205.3
20215.8
20225.3
20236.7
20247.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

54.7%

21 March 2021 · Monmouthshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

15.1%

21 March 2021 · Monmouthshire council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.7%

21 March 2021 · Monmouthshire council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.6%

21 March 2021 · Monmouthshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£335,000

July 2026 · Monmouthshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£994

August 2026 · Monmouthshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.